G.I. Joe: The Good and the Bad

G.I. Joe had all the elements of what a summer action movie should have, but sadly it did not quite deliver.  You can’t deny that movies based on toys have been a hot commodity this summer and that trend in my opinion will not change any time soon.  Hasbro and Paramount Pictures teamed up to bring G.I. Joe to life. It had action, special effects, and romance but to sum it all up – it was predictable and the ending had me thinking “what was the point of making this film if it was going to end like that?”  It is sad because G.I. Joe could’ve been so much better.

Here is a synopsis of the film from the G.I. Joe official website:

“From the Egyptian Desert to deep below the polar ice caps, the Elite G.I. Joe team uses the latest in next-generation spy and military equipment to fight the corrupt arms dealer Destro and the growing threat of the mysterious Cobra organization to prevent them from plunging the world into chaos.”

[clearspring_widget title=”GI Joe Movie Widget” wid=”49da3c7edcdc3f37″ pid=”4a860edd34289507″ width=”340″ height=”280″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

**POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD**

What Worked?
I actually liked the fact that they created back stories to the 80’s characters that they were based upon for more character depth. The action sequences were elaborate and the high-tech equipment invented for the film were quite interesting. The casting for the film was great. They really meshed well as an ensemble and they were interesting as individuals. I particularly liked the performances of Marlon Wayans (Ripcord) and “Alias” alum Rachel Nichols (Scarlett) the most.

What Didn’t Work?
As much as I thought the back stories for the “Joes” and other cast members were good, some of them in my opinion were never fully developed in particular Arnold Vosloo’s (“The Mummy”) character Zartan. The special effects for the most part were good, but in some scenes they were a little too computer generated which made the film have an odd cartoon feel. Also some of the action sequences were drawn out which made the pacing of the film a little slow and a bit dull. In my opinion, the biggest downfall of this movie was predictability.

Final Thoughts:
For an action summer flick, this movie was a little sub-par in its delivery. There were some parts that I enjoyed and some not so much. The movie was entertaining to an extent, but since the movie was so predictable it kind of killed it for me. Some of the action sequences were too far-fetched for my taste and sometimes a bit ridiculous (not in the good sense). All in all, I would suggest to rent this film but you don’t have to take my word for it. The ending of the film pretty much secures a sequel, I just hope that it will be better executed. If I were to grade this film, I would have to give it a D.

Leave a comment

Filed under Alias Alumni Watch, Movies

Leave a Reply

