More “One for the Money” casting news

Source: Comingsoon.net

**UPDATE 9/27/11: Watch the trailer for “One for the Money” here!**

**UPDATE 9/9/11: Check out the movie poster for “One for the Money” here.**

**UPDATE 4/30/11: The release date for “One for the Money” has changed. It will be released on January 27, 2012.**

**UPDATE 1/18/11: According to IMDB.com, “One for the Money” will be released in theaters on July 8, 2011.**

**UPDATE 8/10/10: Debbie Reynolds is playing Grandma Mazur. Read more on Cinemablend.com. Cristina Aloe Ana Reeder is now playing Connie.**

**UPDATE 7/19/10: “The View’s” Sherri Sheperd, who will play Lula, John Leguizamo (“Moulin Rouge!”), and Patrick Fischler join the cast of “One for the Money”. Read more on Zap2it.com**

Former “Life on Mars” star Jason O’Mara has been cast as Joe Morelli in the screen adaptation of “One for the Money”, which is the first novel in the Stephanie Plum book series by Janet Evanovich. O’Mara will star opposite Katherine Heigl (“Grey’s Anatomy”) who will play the title character Stephanie Plum. According to Variety.com, Daniel Sunjata (“Rescue Me”) has been cast as a veteran bounty hunter, which means he is likely playing Ranger.

As someone who has read most of the Stephanie Plum book series, I was surprised to hear of Heigl nabbing the title role of Stephanie Plum. If you read the series, I think it is safe to say that Heigl is not the first person you would’ve pictured for the role. The characters and the setting of the books take place in New Jersey. Stephanie Plum is suppose to be someone struggling with their weight and a rookie in training bounty hunter. It’s a combination which doesn’t exactly scream Katherine Heigl, but I guess we just have to wait and see. As for O’Mara, I think he is a good actor but an Irishman playing an Italian guy born and raised in New Jersey? On paper, it is a bit of a head scratcher. Then again, O’Mara did play a New York City cop on the TV Drama “Life on Mars”. On the other hand, Sunjata somewhat looks the part but is he bad-ass enough to play Ranger?

What do you think of the latest casting news? Sound off in the Comments section!

41 Comments

Filed under Movies

41 responses to “More “One for the Money” casting news

  1. Jennifer

    Although I have enjoyed several of Heigl’s movies, I think she is an AWFUL choice to play Stephanie. I fear that the decision to cast her can take what could have potentially been a fantastic movie into crap. I have read and enjoyed every single Evanovich book. Sandra Bullock or Debra Messing I an see as Plum. Heigl? Not in a million years.

    • MKC

      I couldn’t agree with you more Jennifer. I too pictured Sandra Bullock as a better fit for Stephanie Plum. The other person I thought of was Jami Gertz who was in a film called “Jersey Girl” (1992) not to be confused with the Kevin Smith movie of the same name starring Jennifer Lopez.

      • Beachgirl

        I completely agree. I don’t like the choices for Ranger or Morelli either. I picture Morelli as a dark eye Italian. If they must have an Irishman – why not Colin Farel? I always think of “The Rock” for Ranger or someone big and built like him. I do like the actors in other roles just not for this.

    • Wendy

      as much as I love Sandra Bullock I can NOT see her as Stephanie either. I like Kat Dennings for Stephanie, she’s on that show Two Broke Girls. I also think of Michael Weatherly (Tony Dinozzo on NCIS) as Morelli. And I love someone’s idea of Cloris Leachman as Grandma Mazzuir, the personality fits so well. As for Ranger, Dwayne Johnson is not Ranger material to me. I never read Ranger as huge and hulking, more streamlined and jsut plain hot, not sure who I’d want in that category but it’s not the Rock or the guy cast for it.

  2. Gabby

    I have just started reading the Stephanie Plum series and absolutely love them. Heigl does not seem so bad of a choice to me. However Bullock would be good too. I think she will do good and the new movie Killers which has some similarities to our fave bounty hunter. I am not a fan of the O’Mara choice. He just doesn’t look the part to me and as for Sunjata looks the part for Ranger but I don’t know much else about him. All in all the books will always be better, I just hope Hollywood does not totally ruin it!

  3. Kathleen S.

    I have been a fan of these books for years and all three of these people are definitely not who I would have picked. Sandra Bullock would have been great for this role a few years back, Rachel Bilson would be adorable also, if a little young. Katherine Heigl? Ugghh, no. And neither of these guys appeal to me either. I always pictured someone like David Boreanaz as Morelli. Very few guys can pull off calling a girl “Cupcake” with a straight face. And Daniel Sunjata just does not look mysterious or dangerous enough to be Ranger. I am bummed.

  4. Mina

    John Stamos will always be Morelli to me.

  5. riley-wilson

    An avid fan of the laugh out loud Steaphnie Plum novels, I have to agree that the casting is not well done. My first thought is who every cast the parts has not read the novels!! If they had, they never would have slected the actors that they did. The Rock was born to play Ranger. He has the looks, build and the comic timing. As far as Stephanie goes, I think Sandra Bullock is perfect. She looks great and again she has the comic timing and experience to bring Stephanie alive on screen. I like Mark Ruffalo as Morelli. His character in Shutter Island shows he can pull it off. Lulu has Queen Latifah written all over it. She could bring LuLu to life. They need comic talent to make this movie come alive. What about Marion Ross for Grandma Murtza? She did a fantastic cameo has Red’s mother on That 70’s show!

    • MKC

      I too pictured The Rock as Ranger. Queen Latifah was definitely one of my choices for Lulu as well as Mo’Nique. Mark Ruffalo…he actually could pull off Morelli. Nothing against Jason O’Mara, but he doesn’t actually scream Morelli to me. Thanks for commenting!

    • akmom

      I never THOUGHT of the Rock as Ranger but that would’ve been PERFECT!!! I still say Cloris Leachman for Grandma M. Hmmmmm, Mark Ruffalo as Morelli – I like it, I think he could’ve pulled it off. The casting for this just sucks. Kathryn Heigl, please.

  6. GE

    Morelli should be played by Joe Manganiello. As someone has already said Queen Latifah for Lula. Cause Lula is attitude with a big heart. Sandra Bullock has always been in my head as Stephanie. I have read all the books and the actors picked for Stephanie, Ranger, and Joe are just wrong.

  7. Kathy

    I have read all the books and loved them all. I will not be seeing this movie because none of these people are who I picture and I don’t what to ruin future books.

  8. Tina

    I’d like to know how the writer came up with the idea that Stephanie struggles with her weight? I am an avid fan, have read the books several times and in no way would I describe Stephanie as someone who struggles with her weight.

  9. I Have been a fan of the Stephanie Plum series for years. In my head, Stephanie, Ranger and Morelli look nothing like Heigl, Sunjata or O’Mara but, I will reserve judgment until I can see a movie trailer. I am willing to give the movie the benefit of the doubt. I have wanted this series to be turned into a movie for years. Now, that I’m getting my wish, I am willing to have some patience and a little faith.

    • Jeannette

      I agree with most of the previous commentators… I also thought of Sandra Bullock at Stephanie… I am happy with Sherri Sheperd as Lula — although I agree Queen Latifah could have pulled it off also…. Jason OMara is no Morelli… he isn’t hot at all and certainly not enough to compare to Daniel Sunjata’s Ranger… I absolutely hate what they are doing to the Vinnie character.. why-oh-why isn’t Danny Devito playing that part? the casting of Vinnie and Connie is so far off, I hope it doesn’t ruin the movie for me.. who is playing Grandma Mazur, anybody know?

  10. All folks I know in Ga that are big fans of Janet Evanovitch do NOT want Katherine Heigl to play Steph.

    All my FB friends want Sandra Bullock.
    Or Marisa Tomei.
    Katie Heigl has Grey’s Anatomy all over her.
    Don’t care she dyed her hair brown to “get into the character. She will never fit the part!

    Ranger should be the Rock.

    Niecy Nash has Lula written all over her. Nothing against S. Smith, just believe that NN will work it better.

    Vinnie could be Martin Short.Or David Spade.

    That’s all for now.

  11. lisa

    David Boreanaz as Morelli is the ONLY option. Drew Barrymore would be better than Heigl as Stephanie. I think seeing the movie will ruin future books for me…I may check out the trailer and then judge, but won’t hold my breath!!

  12. Beachgirl

    Boo hiss to this cast – except for maybe Lula’s part. Colin Farel would have madea great Morelli. Sandra Bullock a great Stephanie Plum and The Rock a great Ranger. Love the actors they chose in other roles but not for these.

  13. Melissa J

    My choices have always been Sandra Bullock, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson, Sherri Shepherd and Betty White. Vinnie, never put a celebrity face with him so much.

  14. Alison

    The Rock IS Ranger!!! How can they cast anyone else? As far as Stephanie, I agree with most of the bloggers, Sandra Bullock would be great. If you saw her in Miss Congeniality, it is a perfect fit. Morelli, hmmmm, tha’t a tough one, but Mark Consuelos (who is grossly underused in movies) would be a great Morelli. I love Sherri Shepard and think she would make a great Lula, but how about Neicy Nash? Talk about attitude!!!!

  15. Bailey

    I’ve always thought Lauren Graham would make a great Stephanie. She looks the part and has awesome comedic timing. (Gilmore Girls)

    Also, I’ve never been able to picture anyone else as Lula besides comedian and frequent Chelsea Lately round table guest, Loni Love. She IS Lula to me.

  16. Kay

    First…Heigl will be fine…she looks good with the brown curly hair and she can do slapstick well. I have read the series at least 6 times…all of the books except the new one..only twice for that one. Stephanie is NOT struggling with her weight in the books in any real capacity she eats a few too many tastycakes….then has to cut back but she is by no means ever really struggling like Lula…they cast Ranger pretty well although he seems so young but what were they thinking for Morelli…and Vinnie…I am so disappointed…and who the heck is playing Grandma Mazur…this movie is going to be a disaster….and there goes our hopes of seeing any of the other books on screen. This is my favorite series of all time and I doubt I will even go see the movie….

  17. Eileen K

    They’re all terrible. Except for Ranger, all the characters are New Jersey Italians. Not one of the announced cast is Italian or anything resembling Italian. The Plum novels have gone downhill; now this movie will kill them off once and for all. And most of the suggestions people have been making would have been great if the movie had been made back when they first talked about it–10 or more years ago. They’re too old now.

    • ann

      I read that Grandma Mazur is being played by Debbie Reynolds. To me that is a bad choice. I love Debbie Reynolds but she is not Grandma Mazur to me but since she is a good actress – let’s hope she can pull it off.

  18. ann

    my choice for Ranger would have been Adam Rodriguez from CSI-Miami – he’s handsome and was good as the “bad boy” in Ugly Betty.

  19. GiGi

    For me, the bigger head-scratcher than KH playing Steph is WHY IN THE WORLD fans want The Rock as Ranger???? I have been reading about a mysterious Cuban for years, and Dwayne has none of that written anywhere on him! Okay, so he’s big and strong like we imagine Ranger to be. But he has none of the dark mystery or scary sexuality that Ranger has.

    The guy they chose looks good in the face but he’s way too physically small (based on the one pic of him on set that I saw)and the idea of a horizontal mambo with him does not scare me (in a GOOD scared way, like it is with Ranger).

    I am also VERY unhappy about the choice for Morelli, but I admit I am basing that totally on the guy’s looks. I have no idea who he is.

    My dream cast would have been Sandra Bullock for Stephanie (but that was 10 years ago. She’s too old now), a younger Antonio Sabato, Jr. for Ranger (in looks only), never had anyone specific in mind for Morelli (just can’t think of anyone who would fit the bill), Debbie Mazar for Joyce, Cloris Leachman for grandma and Monique for Lula(though I now think Niecy Nash would be best and I put Sheri Shephard 2nd). There are tons of actors who could accurately portray Vinnie.

    In all fairness I will say that when I heard RDJ was cast as Tony Stark, I was like WTF! But that was a brilliant choice, so I acknowledge my lack of vision in this area. Perhaps we’ll all be pleasantly surprised!

  20. Pam

    O’mara is Irish for crying out loud! Morelli is Italian. Good grief would someone else please take over the casting for this movie because who ever is doing it has NOT read the books. I will NOT go see this movie I love the books and won’t watch them kill it.

  21. Robyn

    im sorry, but as a MASSIVE fan of the books, they have just failed hugely in attempting to cast this movie, except maybe lula. I agree with whoever it was who suggested david boreanez as morelli, or at least someone Fucking italian! come on, an irishman? and katherine heigl will KILL this film, sandra bullock all the way. ranger, im not sure, i see him in my head, so its all wrong anyways. FAILURE GUYS !

  22. Mackenzie

    I could see James Rodey as Morelli but I don’t know if I could see him being in a serious role since I have only seen him being goofy in Psych… But I don’t like the guy they have picked out for him… I would never have picked him out to play the role… He doesn’t fit it…

  23. I’m so excited about this movie. I too wish that Sandra bullock was playing Steph but KH looks great in the photos. As far as Morelli, if he’s gotta be Irish uh Gerard Butler anyone? I kinda wondered. He is supposed to be italian. I think Cam Gugandte (sp?) That plays James in twilight should be Diesel. Ranger-def not dwayne johnson. I know he’s latino in the books but I kinda picture Mark wahlburg when I read. Betty white def grandma mazur.I’m just excited to see it all!!!!!!

  24. movie trailers on youtube are so cool, they even got trailers of the latest movies .

  25. Susie Mshar

    I don’t know about the rest of the characters but my vote for Stephanie Plum would have been Marissa Tomei hands down.

  26. Just found out there is a movie. Appalled at the casting.

    Agree 100%. Sandra Bullock is the perfect Stephanie. Cloris Leachman or as Grandma Mazur. Grandma is such an important role …Debbie Reynolds is a terrible choice.

    Wonderful book series ….fate may not go as well for the movie.

  27. akmom

    AlphaMares – you are RIGHT on! Casting absolutely sucks. I will see the movie because I love the book series but if they screw it up I am OUT! Sandra Bullock is a no-brainer for Stephanie, Cloris Leachman – Grandma Mazur (would have been FANTASTIC-anyone seen her on “Raising Hope”???). Mo’nique should’ve been Lula. Wonder what JE thinks of the casting?

    • akmom

      I recant, after reading the comments….NIecy Nash for Lula absolutely. This is just gonna suck all the way around. Sigh.

  28. MKC

    Check out the new “One for the Money” movie poster! Here’s the link: http://wp.me/ptXZl-179

  29. Wanwan

    If they had to pick a blondie to play Grandma Mazur might as well pick Betty White, she can do anything. Have you seen these actor Joe Manganiello and Antonio Sabato Jr real Italian guys, they could be Morelli

  30. Pingback: Luxury Self Catering Fife

  31. It appears to me that this web site doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the same issue? I enjoy this site and dont want to have to miss it when Im away from my computer.

Leave a Reply

