64th Annual Tony Award Winners

Source: Tony Awards – Official Website

The 64th annual Tony Awards were held on June 13, 2010. Sean Hayes hosted the venue and was quite a performer opening the show with a piano medley and accompanied some of the nominated show’s cast while they performed a song from their respective shows. A lot of first time nominees won their respective categories and the Hollywood stars swept most of the Tony Awards. Scarlett Johannson, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Denzel Washington won their categories but the top honors went to “Memphis” for winning Best Musical and “Red” for winning Best Play.

One of the highlights of the awards ceremony were performances by Lea Michele and Matthew Morrison from “Glee”. Matthew Morrison performed All I Need Is The Girl from “Gypsy”. Lea Michele performed Don’t Rain On My Parade from “Funny Girl”. Morrison and Michele are no strangers to the stage as both were nominated for Tony’s before. Lea Michele for “Spring Awakening” and Matthew Morrison for a fantastic performance in “The Light in the Piazza”. If you missed their performance or want to watch it again, click on the link below to see the video from the 2010 Tony Awards as well as some of the winners of the night.

*Winners denoted in BOLD print
Best Musical

  • American Idiot
  • Fela!
  • Memphis
  • Million Dollar Quartet

Best Play

  • In the Next Room or the Vibrator Play by Sarah Ruhl
  • Next Fall by Geoffrey Nauffts
  • Red by John Logan
  • Time Stands Still by Donald Margulies

Best Revival of a Play

  • Fences
  • Lend Me a Tenor
  • The Royal Family
  • A View from the Bridge

Best Revival of a Musical

  • Finian’s Rainbow
  • La Cage aux Folles
  • A Little Night Music
  • Ragtime

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play

  • Jude Law for Hamlet
  • Alfred Molina for Red
  • Liev Schreiber for A View from the Bridge
  • Christopher Walken for A Behanding in Spokane
  • Denzel Washington for Fences

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Play

  • Viola Davis for Fences
  • Valerie Harperfor Looped
  • Linda Lavin for Collected Stories
  • Laura Linney for Time Stands Still
  • Jan Maxwell for The Royal Family

Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical

  • Kelsey Grammer for La Cage aux Folles
  • Sean Hayes for Promises, Promises
  • Douglas Hodge for La Cage aux Folles
  • Chad Kimball for Memphis
  • Sahr Ngaujah for Fela!

Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical

  • Kate Baldwin for Finian’s Rainbow
  • Montego Glover for Memphis
  • Christiane Noll for Ragtime
  • Sherie Rene Scott for Everyday Rapture
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones for A Little Night Music

For the full list of winners visit the Tony Awards Official Website.

Leave a comment

Filed under Broadway, Glee, TV

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s